Before the Awakening by Greg Rucka

I’m still behind with posts here. I’ve not had a lot of time on my days off, and it always seems to storm when I do have a moment to write. And with Irma likely headed my way, I thought I’d try to get this one done at least.

before the awakening

Before the Awakening follows Rey, Poe, and Finn before the events of The Force Awakens. Poe’s tells how he became a member of the Resistance, the first time he met General Organa, and his first Resistance mission.

Rey’s story tells some of her time on Jakku and a little about how she became good at fixing things and learned to be a pilot.

Finn’s tells about his last days as a cadet and plants the seeds for why he freed Poe and fled the The First Order.

There was a lot of stuff in the three stories that gives great insight into the character’s motivations, thoughts, and feelings. It’s helped me understand the characters better as I was not a fan of TFA.

If you want a more in depth analysis of this book and other Middle Grade Star Wars books, see my recent article at The Future of the Force.

I give this one Four Lightsabers.

Leave a Reply

