Darth Vader Vol. 1: Vader

Darth Vader has never been one of my favorite characters, but since this one takes place parallel to the main series and crosses over with it I figured I’d give it a shot.

24819813

Picking up after Vader’s failure to stop the destruction of the Death Star, the comic sees Vader fall out of the Emperor’s good graces, if he even has any. Vader is determined to prove himself once again and to find the boy responsible for the Death Star’s destruction. He enlists the help of Doctor Aphra, a rogue archaeologist who specializes in weapons and droids, to help him regain his footing and to one day take the Empire for himself.

While I wouldn’t say these are the best of the new Star Wars comics, I did enjoy the story. I liked the addition of Aphra’s character and her two crazy assassin droids, but again, she’s not my new favorite. Anyone who works for Vader is suspect in my opinion.

I think I have to rate this one Three Lightsabers since the story just didn’t grab me in the way the other comics have so far.

Leave a Reply

