My Lady Jane by Jodi Meadows, Brodi Ashton, and Cynthia Hand

I recently read this alternate history book and it was amazing! I’ve been wanting to read this since I first saw the announcement of it on Epic Reads sometime last year I think it was. My library didn’t get it when it first came out, but when it came in at the beginning of September I nearly squealed and jumped for joy in the middle of the discharge area in front of our shelvers. Of course those two know full well that I’m an unabashed fangirl, as does the rest of the staff, so I don’t think it would have surprised them in the least.

22840421

First off, a little history. Lady Jane Grey was the first cousin once removed of King Edward the VI, his father and her grandmother were siblings (I know, that sounds odd, but in my family that’s normal. I have several first cousins once removed close in age to myself for this very reason.) Edward was pursued by the head of the privy council, Lord Dudley, to alter the line of succession and name Jane his heir. He then married his son, Guildford, to her. When Edward died, Jane become queen for all of nine days. She then quite literally lost her head, as our dear authors put it. The Lady Janies all feel that Jane and co. all deserve a happy ending, so they gave us this. What follows is “The comical, fantastical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey.”

Comical and fantastical it is. Instead of the fight for the throne being between Protestants and Catholics, it’s between Verities (the former) and Edians, pronounced Ethians (the latter.) Jane is a supporter of the Edians, as is Edward. And poor Gifford (call him G) is an Edian who spends hid days as a horse and his nights a man. Through a series of events that rewrites history in some parts and completely throws it out the window in others (the authors’ words, not mine), by the end of the book Jane, G, and Edward escape the fate written down in history and all live happily ever after.

Now, if you are a Princess Bride fan like myself, then this is the book for you! The book, much like my review, pays homage to the book and movie through out with all the little parenthetical notes. There’s even a reference to some lines and scenes. There’s also 50, according to the authors, Shakespeare references and it’s implied that G is Shakespeare (I stopped counting at 18.) There’s also a couple of Game of Thrones references (the Red Wedding!), an Ever After one (Or Two! Although if you ask me they missed an opportunity at the end of the book to quote the end of the movie where the Dowager tells the Grimm brothers that the point is “that they lived”.) There’s a Monty Python reference, and some Tangled ones. There’s other random references as well. I’m not sure, but they may have been referencing A Knight’s Tale when Edward uses the term fox to describe a character, and not just referencing the song.

Overall, the book was simply hysterical! I absolutely loved it. I couldn’t stop laughing. I can’t wait for their next two historical rewrites. Five Lightsabers to the Lady Janies. I bow to your awesomeness. I’d never read any of your stuff before, but I plan to now.

Leave a Reply

