Movie Trailer Monday: Fantastic Beasts and Independence Day

There is a new Trailer for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them out. Eddy Redmayne seems perfect for this role with the right mix of wide eyed wonder and awkwardness. It will be so  exciting to see the US side of the Wizarding World.

 

If you grew up in the ’90s, then you grew up watching Independence Day. It was on TV just about every year on July 4th for several years, along with The Patriot. While I didn’t see it when it initially came out, and I don’t think I actually saw it until I was about fifteen (five years later), it is a classic for scifi fans like myself. However, when the first announcement for the sequel was made, I was a bit dubious. Do we really need a sequel? Has it been too long? Most of the original cast is back for it though, except Will Smith whose character is missing but whose step son will be taking over his part it seems, and Mae Whitman who played the president’s daughter has been recast. I’ve always liked Mae Whitman, so I’m disappointed she won’t be in this one, but I hope whoever took over the role does it well. After seeing this trailer, I’m excited to see it. It looks like it’s going to be just as epic as the original.

Leave a Reply

