All New X-Men

I never got around to reviewing the subsequent volumes in this series. Of course, I can’t remember all the details now, so bear with me in my attempt at this one. I had to wait quite a while for some of the volumes to come in from being ordered for me to continue, so I’ve read them over the course of the last year, and volume seven just now ended up on my desk last week.  Mild Spoilers that cannot be avoided follow.

Battle of the Atom

18295931

This was a crossover with Marvel Now!’s X-Men, Uncanny X-Men, and Wolverine and the X-Men. In this one, the time travel trippyness kicks it up a notch when members of the X-Men from the future come to visit. These X-Men want to kill the original X-Men. Soon another group claiming to be the real X-Men from the future arrive, and the original X-Men must determine who is friend, and who is foe. It’s a battle of the time travelers to see who will survive.

All Different

18359995

After the events of the Battle of the Atom, Kitty joins her students at Cyclops’s school. The team is shaken to the core and have decided the best place for them is with Cyclops’s team. They even get new uniforms and find a new member in X-23.

The Trial of Jean Grey

18478257

Jean is kidnapped by the Shi’ar Empire to stand trial for a crime she has yet to commit, and the Guardians of the Galaxy team up with the X-Men to save her. Along the way, Cyclops comes face-to-face with someone from his past he thought long dead, and Jean discovers a new power. Can they save Jean in time?

One Down

19539377

Cyclops has chosen not to return to Earth with his friends after Jean’s rescue. When they least expect it, the school is attacked. Is the previous battle with the Brotherhood really over? Or is it just beginning? And can Jean master her new found power in time to help?

The Ultimate Adventure

22798023

This volume sees the X-Men scattered to another dimension after a run-in with a a new mutant. Jean teams up with this universe’s Spiderman to find her friends, and Beast is held captive. Can they all find one another in time and make it back to their own dimension before it’s too late?

Overall, I find this series exciting. I love the time travel aspects of it, and I even like the crossovers. It loved the Guardians of the Galaxy movie and it was really cool to see those characters here, and it made me want to read that series as well. My only complaint is that I wasn’t familiar with who some of the characters are, but there is a great Wikipedia page on the Battle of the Atom story line that let me know what was involved in it, and from there I could look up any characters I wasn’t familiar with. I don’t think I can rate these though as it was too long ago that I read them, but I recommend them to anyone wanting to break into comics or graphic novels, especially if you’re a fan of the X-Men movies, but never read the comics. Like me. They are short and action packed, and perfect for reluctant teen readers.

Leave a Reply

