Top Ten Tuesday a bit late: Top Ten OTPs

I haven’t done one of these in a little while, and I wish I hadn’t missed the day, but I caught the library sinus infection. I thought this topic was a great choice for Valentine’s day. Although mine aren’t all from books, I will try my best to have as many book ones as possible. The Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and the Bookish.

  1. Darcy and Elizabeth: How can I not have these two on my list? Darcy’s confession of “You must allow me to tell you how much I ardently admire and love you” was a bit marred by his other confession of loving her against his will, but they are the ultimate will they won’t they couple.
  2. Anne (with an e!) Shirley and Gilbert Blythe from Anne of Green Gables: Another couple I have to include. They are another will they won’t they couple as Anne adamantly refuses to acknowledge to anyone, even herself, her growing feelings for Gil, even though we all know his heart always belonged to her from the first moment he called her carrot.
  3. Suze Simon and Jesse de Silva from The Mediator series: Suze is a teen mediator, and when she walks into her new room in Victorian house, she finds it already occupied by the ghost of Jesse de Silva, hot Hispanic cowboy. Suze mediates the ghosts of the local population, all while struggling not to fall in love with her ghostly roommate. Of course, they fall in love, and to quote The Princess Bride “Death cannot stop true love”, even in this case. I just finished the long anticipated seventh book, and it was bittersweet to see these two get their happily ever after after everything they had to go through to get it. Also, he calls her queirda and can always sense when her life is in danger or she’s in over her head. That have a bond that even death can’t break.
  4. Eleanor and Park: I loved this book, and the two characters were so cute together. Park was there for Eleanor when she needed it most and helped her escape from a horrible situation. In the end, you had to hope they one day reconnected.
  5. Anna and Zack from The Impossible Theory of Anna and Zack: This unlikely pair started off on the wrong foot, but one hell of an adventure at a scifi convention begins to bring them together. The two bond as they learn more about one another and help each other with the issues they are hiding under the surface. In the end, they realize the other one isn’t what they thought.
  6. Almost all the couples in The Lunar Chronicles: I don’t think I can pick one favorite. I loved Kai/Cinder, Jacin/Winter, and Thorne/Cress for different reasons, but I think I liked them pretty equally. They each have their merits.
  7. Claire Randall Fraser and Jamie Fraser: I haven’t read the books yet, but I have seen the TV show. Time could not keep these two apart. Season 2 starts in April, and I can’t wait to see what happens next.

TV Shows/Movies

  1. Obi-Wan Kenobi and Duchess Satine Kryze: When the Duchess Satine was first introduced in season 2 of Clone Wars, it was clear these two had a history of the romantic sort. Playful witty banter ensued, and by the end of the first story arc she was in, Obi, as she called him, was confessing that he would have left the Order for her had she only asked. Wow! They both chose duty over love and instead where unable to be together. In season 5, he defied orders to go and save her, only to have her die tragically in his arms professing her undying love. They exist to be a foil for Anakin and Padme, and I just loved them.
  2. Colonel Samantha Carter and General Jack O’Neill (with two lls!) from Stargate: When these two first meet, Jack admits he likes women but not scientists, and she challenges him to an arm wrestling competition to prove she’s tough enough to go through the ‘Gate. Not long after, under the influence of an alien virus, the two nearly get it on. Thus, the most famous ship in the Stargate universe was born. Bound by duty and military regs, these two are forced to keep their growing feelings for one another secret. Yet, when Sam’s father is on his deathbed, he practically tells her to forget about the regs if Jack will make her happy. They went through a lot together. Saved each other’s lives and even had to watch one another nearly die at least once. In later seasons, it’s implied they have some sort of understanding, there was even a scene that ended up on the cutting room floor of her admitting they were waiting for him to retire. Alas, we never get to find out if they get together.

I think that’s only 9, but I can’t think of a 10th, and I’m late enough posting this as it is. Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

Leave a Reply

