Bestsellers to Blockbusters: The Shannara Chronicles

the-shannara-chronicles-poster

While a TV adaptation and not a movie, this new series is based off the Shannara Chronicles by Terry Brooks. The books were recommended to me, but I haven’t had a chance to read them yet alas. I’ll do my best to stay away from spoilers, but there may be some mild ones below, but I don’t think it’s anything that isn’t in the trailers.

Set an indeterminate number of years into the future after another world war, technology has ceased to exist and magic has reemerged and with it elves, trolls, and Druids.

The show opens with a young Elven Princess, Amberlee, participating in a dangerous race to become a member of the Chosen whose task it is to take care of the Elcrys. The Elcrys is a tree that hundreds of years ago was created to imprison hundreds of demons. Amberlee succeeds, unfortunately, the Elcrys is dying and the demons begin escaping. The Chosen are murdered with Amberlee becoming the sole survivor.

At the same time half-elf Will Ohmsford’s mother has just died. With her dying breath she gives him the Elfstones, once possessed by his father. She commands him to keep them safe hinting at that he must find the Druid. Will sets out on  a journey to become a healer, but before he reaches his destination, the Druid, Allanon, finds him.

Three are soon caught up in the impending threat to caused by the Elcrys dying and must team up to save the world.

I’m not familiar with those cast in this show, at least not really. It took me a little while, but I realized the guy playing Will was in the first season of Switched at Birth, and I recognized the name Manu Bennett, but had to look up from where. The major name here is Johnathon Rhys Davies. If you grew up in the ’90s you may remember a little show called Sliders. Davies played one of the main characters there, and he’s of course famous to genre fans for playing Gimli in LOTR. So far though, I like the cast.

The special effects are great. The demons are suitably terrifying and believable. The magic scenes aren’t cheesy either. The costumes are a great mix of fantasy based, modern, and post apocalyptic cobbled togetherness that paint a picture of how this world is.

I know there are some changes, but having not read the books, and not wishing to spoil myself, I’m not going to look them up. Judging by the first three episodes though, I really like it and can’t wait to see what happens next.

 

3 thoughts on “Bestsellers to Blockbusters: The Shannara Chronicles

  1. I just watched the second and third episodes on demand last night! I’m debating on whether to try and read the book(s) again or not. I have vague memories of starting the first one many moons ago, but not being able to get into it. Let me know if you start on the books and what you think!

  2. Pingback: Movie Trailer Monday: Shannara Chronicles Season 2, Rebels Season 4, The Crown Season 2 | The Ramblings of a Jedi Librarian

Leave a Reply

