The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

So, I’m a little behind in my reading, and reviews. I’ve had a lot of neck issues and consequently migraines. So I haven’t had a chance to write my review of Scorch Trials until now. I’ll also be doing a Bestsellers to Blockbusters comparing it to the movie, which I can hopefully get out next week on my week off. Of course, I’ll be reading one of those series I mentioned back in my Top Ten Tuesday post on series I need to read as well.

7631105

The Scorch Trials is the second book in the Maze Runner series by James Dashner. This time around, Thomas and his friends have just escaped from their captors that put them in the Maze. Or have they? They soon realize that WICKED’s reach is far greater than they ever realized when they are sent into the Scorch and given two weeks to make to a safe haven in the mountains were they are promised it will all finally end. The trip is deadly, if they don’t die from the heat or the weather, they just might die from the Cranks, people inflicted with a terrible and deadly disease. Can they trust each other long enough to survive the Scorch Trials? Or will someone’s betrayal turn friends into enemies?

Like the first book, this one is filled with action and adventure and a little mystery. However, I thought it was a bit slow to start. The Gladers spent quite a few chapters in what they thought was safety before being forced out into the Scorch, and I thought that part was a bit long and boring and took away from the action. There were some other sections in the middle that were a bit slow too between action scenes, and there was a lot of walking, but they were, after all, on a journey.

We get to see more of WICKED this time and finally learn why the exist and what they are trying to do, but for those that haven’t read the books or seen the movies, I’ll keep quite on what that is. We also learn just how far they are willing to go to achieve their goals, and it’s pretty far.

We also get more characters, and Thomas and his friends must decide if they can trust the people they meet or not.

This book is definitely good for boys that love action and who were fans of The Hunger Games.  I give it Four Lightsabers due to the slow bits.

2 thoughts on “The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

  1. Pingback: Bestsellers to Blockbusters: The Scorch Trials | The Ramblings of a Jedi Librarian

  2. Pingback: The Death Cure by James Dashner | The Ramblings of a Jedi Librarian

Leave a Reply

