Blog Tour: Clairvoyance Chronicles by Natacha Guyot

Book Cover

I recently read the novella Clairvoyance Chronicles by fellow blogger Natacha Guyot. Natacha Guyot is a French author, scholar and public speaker. She is passionate about Science Fiction, Fantasy, Transmedia, Gender Studies, Children Media and Fan Studies. Her blog has some awesome reviews of of scifi and fantasy shows that I’ve been enjoying reading for the last year or so.

Her novella is part of the supernatural sub-genre of fantasy that is ever popular with readers of fantasy. While I have read a lot of fantasy/supernatural YA, this is my first supernatural adult read, and my first with Fae, shifters, and weres other than werewolves.

Summary

Old enemies never truly disappear. When they return, peace becomes fragile and clans are on the brink of destruction.

Were Saber-toothed Cat Neyla relives her real-life nightmares upon the reappearance of her longtime nemesis, Keno. Keno is scheming to overthrow their supernatural society. With Keno’s followers growing each day, Fae, Weres, Shifters and others with special gifts, are at risk.

In these dark times, everyone must join ranks and keep faith in a better tomorrow.

Unfortunately, the price may be high.

Interview

1. What prompted you to start writing?
As far as I can remember, I have always loved telling stories. When I was very young, it was only make-believe during playtime with my toys, but it started to move to the written word by the age of seven or eight. I dove deep into writing original stories when in my teens. I took an extended break from original fiction writing until 2014, which had lasted almost a decade, despite fanfiction and roleplaying endeavors in the meantime.

2. What drew you to the scifi/fantasy genre?
I grew up in a house where those genres were appreciated, so I was introduced to them when a child. I loved fairy tales, Star Wars and other stories when I grew up. I read a lot of Science Fiction and Fantasy, as well as loving the genres on screen. I have always written in those, though especially Science Fiction. The turn to Fantasy is more recent and goes back to my return to original fiction writing in 2014. I had Fantasy elements in previous works, but taking a real “supernatural” leap is fairly new to me. I enjoy the versatility of both Science Fiction and Fantasy, with all the opportunities it gives to an author. While I read other genres, I don’t picture myself writing in them.

3. Clairvoyance Chronicles is falls into the Supernatural sub-genre, why did you chose this genre for your book?
I didn’t choose it for the universe emerged as it was. The characters that came to me fell into this sub-genre, so this was how it came to be. The one thing I realized early on was that I wasn’t interested in including any vampire in it (with a valid explanation why they don’t exist in it, despite human imagination). The whole Fae, Shifter and Were aspect fascinated me and I went that road to explore the implications and developments of the society and their ties with humans.

4. Your book is full of diverse characters. Your characters come from Africa, Asia, Scandinavia, and the United Kingdom, are of both genders, and you feature a lesbian couple, why did you chose to have such a diverse cast of characters?

Characters are driving forces whenever I come up with a new universe. While I adore world building, it most often stems from the characters that decide to show up and live in the universe I’m working on. Diversity is important to me, but it comes out in a rather organic way in my stories. I don’t keep a list of items to check in terms of what types of characters I want. In Clairvoyance Chronicles, the diversity that happened went beyond what I first thought would show up. It probably has to do with how I’ve grown as a writer and a person over the past years.

5. Despite your characters being supernatural beings that practice magic, some of the Fae characters mention believing in some form of a higher power, and reincarnation is also mentioned. Why both magic and religion?
I don’t consider them mutually exclusive and spirituality is an important part of how my characters develop. I think it adds another layer to their path, regardless of their beliefs. It also builds other possible bridges across groups and species. With the different life spans and origins, it also made sense that not all characters would share the same religion/spirituality and that it could participate to bringing them together or tearing them apart. Having a deep interest for mythological and spiritual studies, it was also a great opportunity for me to use my readings and passion into crafting this universe.

6. Clairvoyance Chronicles ends on something of a cliffhanger. How many books do you plan to write in the series?

I am not sure of the number of books the series will have, but I think it will be two or three. Given the extended number of characters and history, it is possible that other volumes appear, focusing on other moments of the timeline or certain characters that didn’t get to have their arc fully resolve during the main one.

7. You chose to break your book into ten sections of 3-5 chapters, each told from the first person point of view of a different character. Why did you choose to do this?

When I realized that I would have multiple narrators, I wanted to keep all short stories be about the same length. The 3-5 chapter structure happened naturally as I started working on them. Some of the stories are a bit shorter or longer, but overall they remained consistent to keep the book balanced. As for the first person point of view, it was a surprise to me. I normally don’t write in this point of view, and had only done it once with my very first novella many years ago. It was a little bit of a challenge to get back to this point of view, but it helped me center myself when developing every story. In a way, it serves to separate characters in my mind.

Clairvoyance Chronicles can by purchased on Amazon.com.

 

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Clairvoyance Chronicles by Natacha Guyot

  1. Pingback: Clairvoyance Chronicles Update | Natacha Guyot

  2. Pingback: 2015 Publishing Retrospective: Clairvoyance Chronicles – Volume One | Natacha Guyot

  3. Pingback: 2015 Publishing Retrospective: Clairvoyance Chronicles – Volume One – Natacha Guyot

Leave a Reply

