Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Finished Series I Have Yet to Finsih, or In My Case Read

I thought I’d do this again. This topic appealed to me since there are a LOT of finished series out there I have yet to even get a chance to pick up. Top Ten Tuesday is sponsored by The Broke and the Bookish.

Series I’ve Started, But Not Finished

  1. Maze Runner by James Dashner: I actually have this one started. I’m on Scorch Trials and will attempt to finish it by the time my assistant and I go see the movie. I have about 9 days. Yikes!
  2. Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling: Yes, I know, I know, shame on me. I probably said this before here, but when book four came out and Harry Mania hit, I was fifteen, and while magic was up my ally, reading about a boy was not. Plus, my reading level was a couple of grades above the grade I was in (8th) so the reading level wasn’t what I was looking for either. In fact, until recently I hadn’t read a book with a male protagonist (with the exception of Boxcar Children in early elementary school) because I’m still not that interested in reading things from a male prospective. In college, I started reading book five on a plane ride to Seattle. I was going to the community college honor society convention and my companion had brought her portable DVD player, which for some reason wouldn’t work, and the only book we had between us was Phoenix. So I started it, but never finished it. However, I have recently acquired the last one I needed to complete a hardcover set, all obtained at library book sales, all cover-less, but I don’t care about that. You can read my review of Sorcerer’s Stone here.
  3. House of Night by P. C. and Kristin Cast: This one I read the first book in around the time they first started getting popular. A cousin gave it to me when I said I wanted to read it since she didn’t like it and plan to read the rest. I enjoyed the premise of it and the mythology. I have a feeling they get a bit soapy for my taste, but I would love to read the rest of them anyway. Coincidentally, I just got in several of these in in the form of donations. They were in pretty good condition, almost new, so I added them to the collection.
  4. Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare: This one has been on my list for a long time. I read City of Bones around the time the movie came out. I had mixed feelings about it. It had a good plot and was a great introduction to a new world, however it had some writing issues. I haven’t had a chance to read the others yet and I’m hoping Clare’s writing improved as the series went on.

Series I Haven’t even started

  1. Divergent by Veronica Roth: This came out when I was in library school, but I never got a chance to read it as it increasingly got popular. I actually own the first book, I bought it with a gift card I got for B & N for library school graduation, but in the year and a half since then I still haven’t found the time.
  2. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor: I really want to read this one. I think I want to read it more now than I do Divergent. The covers are so cool, and I think the premise is a little something different from the rest of the YA fantasy out there.
  3. Song of the Lioness by Tamora Pierce: The first Pierce series I read was the Circle of Magic series, and then it’s sequel series. I loved them, so when I saw a bind up of The Immortals at a thrift store, I snatched it up, and loved those too. I’ve read the Daughter of the Lioness/Trickster books and the Bekka Cooper ones too, but haven’t gotten to her first series.
  4. Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa: I really like fairy stuff, and out of all the fairy themed series that came out a while ago during a short lived trend, I want to read these the most. I hear such good things about Kagawa’s writing and the series. These seam to have some Steampunk elements too. In short, fairies + Steampunk = right up my ally!
  5. The Selection by Kiera Cass: These books have beautiful colors, and I really like their concept of competing to be the next princess. I think it’s a great take on the dytopian genre. I just have to find a time to read them!
  6. The Grisha by Leigh Bardugo: I’ve heard a lot good things about these. I also went through an Anastasia phase as a kid. Plus, with the companion/spin-off series, Bardugo is only getting more popular.

I’m starting to think that I need to save up my vacation and admin time (my vacation time rolls over, but admin time must be used by Dec. 31st in the year earned), and around the holidays, take a few weeks off and just sit at home with my Star Wars Rebels blanket and a cup of hot cocoa and play catch up. It’s see some friends and family of course, but a relaxing few weeks reading sounds like an awesome vacation after my last vacation was nothing but running around with family. Don’t get me wrong, I love my family, their big, loud, funny, and just a bit crazy, but it seemed like we didn’t stop from the moment we got to my aunt’s house to the moment we left (If you’ve seen My Big, Fat, Greek Wedding you know how my family is, only we’re German 😉 ).

So you see, I’ve got a lot of reading ahead of me.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Finished Series I Have Yet to Finsih, or In My Case Read

  1. My 60-some year old aunt turned me on to Harry Potter back in the day (I think the first 5 books were in print at the time). I was like, “those books are for kids, aren’t they?!?”. I’m sure glad I took her recommendation to read them!!!

  2. The only one I haven’t read, started or have on my TBR series is the Tamora Pierce one. I’ve never read any of hers. As for HP. I was 25 ish I think when the first book came out or at least when we read the first book for book club maybe there were a couple out by then. We all just thought it would be fun with grueling college reading lists. I’m so grateful for whoever picked that book!

    PS I new a Star Wars Rebels Blanket to snuggle up in!

  3. Pingback: The Scorch Trials by James Dashner | The Ramblings of a Jedi Librarian

Leave a Reply

