Fandom Quote Friday: Beautiful Creatures

I missed the last two weeks, for which I apologize. I got off on such a good start, then ran out of time one week and couldn’t think of anything the next.

While the movie adaptation left something to be desired, I loved the Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. My personal favorite was the character of Marion, the town librarian and Keeper of the Caster library.

Mortals. I envy you. You think you can change things. Stop the universe. Undo what was done long before you came along. You are such beautiful creatures.

~Macon

So you are a vampire.

“I most certainly am not.” He looked annoyed. “That’s such a common phrase, such a cliche, and so unflattering. I suppose you believe in werewolves and aliens too. I blame television.

~Ethan and Macon

Darkness can’t drive out darkness only light can do that, Hate can’t drive out hate only love can do that.

Without libraries what have we? We have no past and no future. Just ask Ray Bradbury.

~Marion

The library was home away from home to my mom, and my family. We had spent every Sunday afternoon there since I was a little boy, wandering around the stacks, pulling out every book with a picture of a pirate ship, a knight, a soldier, or an astronaut. My mom used to say, “This is my church, Ethan. This is how we keep the Sabbath holy in our family.

~Ethan

3 thoughts on “Fandom Quote Friday: Beautiful Creatures

    • Yes, I would. The books are better. There was far more in them then in the movie. Characters were cut (Ridley’s sisters), others combined (Marian and Amma), powers switched around (Giving a character that was cut’s power to one kept in to compensate), roles reduced (Aunt Del and Ethan’s dad) to fit the time constraints since these are 500+ page books, they also changed some of the rules of the Castor world. For instance Amma is NOT the Keeper of the Castor Library, or the town librarian. She is the Wate family housekeeper and practically raised Ethan’s dad. Marion, Ethan’s mom’s best friend, is the Keeper and completely human, as the Keeper must be neutral. She’s also awesome in her own right with the perfect quote for each situation. Also, the whole family is cursed, not just the women, and the Ravenwoods are cursed too, although for a different reason. It’s really a great good versus evil fight. The Castor world is far more than you see in the film. Their world is literally beneath our feet.

Leave a Reply

