Fandom Quote Friday: The Lunar Chronicles

In honor of this weeks Top Ten Tuesday theme, I’m choosing my favorite retelling, The Lunar Chronicles! I tried to avoid spoilers for those that haven’t read it yet, and seriosuly, if you haven’t and you are a scif/fantasty/fairytale fan, what in the a name of the seven hells are you waiting for? After all, #Winteriscoming November 10th!

From Cress, Book 3

“Captain?”
“Yeah?”
“Do you think it was destiny that brought us together?”
He squinted and, after a thoughtful moment, shook his head. “No. I’m pretty sure it was Cinder.”
~ Cress and Thorne, Cress
I promise, I will not let you die without being kissed.
~ Thorne to Cress, Cress
“Scarlet and Wolf are saying gushy things in the galley,” Iko said. “Normally I like gushy things, but its different when its real people. I prefer the net dramas.”
~ Iko, Scarlet
My net search is finding only a Cadet Carswell Thorne, of the American Republic, imprisoned in New Beijing prison on—”
“That’s him,” said Cinder, ignoring Thorne’s glare.
Another silence as the heat in the engine room hovered just upside of comfortable. The, “You’re… rather handsome, Captain Thorne.”
Cinder groaned.
“And you, my fine lady, are the most gorgeous ship in these skies, and don’t let anyone ever tell you different.”
The temperature drifted upward, until Cinder dropped her arms with a sigh. “Iko, are you intentionally blushing?”
The temperature dropped back down to pleasant. “No,” Iko said. Then, “But am I really pretty? Even as a ship?”
“The prettiest,” said Thorne.
~ Iko, Cinder, and Thorne, Scarlet
I wish I could find that whole exchange between the three of them. It’s quite hysterical, but that’s the biggest chunk I could find.

I don’t know. I don’t actually remember anything from before the surgery.”

His eyebrows rose, his blue eyes sucking in all the light of the room. “The cybernetic operation?”

“No, the sex change.”

The doctor’s smile faltered.

“I’m joking.”

~ Cinder and Dr. Erland, Cinder
She was a cyborg, and she would never go to a ball.
~ Cinder
When Kai fell silent, she risked a glance at him. He was staring at her hands.
“Do you ever take those off?” he asked.
“No.”
Kai tilted his head, peering at her as if he could see right through to the metal plate in her head…”I think you should go to the ball with me.”
She clutched her fingers…”Stars,” she muttered. “Didn’t you already asked me that?”
“I’m hoping for a more favorable answer this time and I seem to be getting more desperate by the minute.”
“How charming.”
Kai’s lips twitched. “Please?”
“Why?”
“Why not?”
“I mean, why me?”
Kai hooked his thumbs on his pockets. “So if my escape hover breaks down, I’ll have someone to fix it?”
~ Kai and Cinder, Cinder
So there you have it, some of my favorite quotes from The Lunar Chronicles.
Leave a Reply

