2014 in Review

I can’t believe another year has already gone by. A lot has happened for me. I got my first library job, and bought my own house (it ended up being cheaper than rent in my area if you can believe it). I had made a Blog Resolution last year to shoot for one post a week. I made it to 48 total posts, with some months with more than 4 posts and others less. I’m pretty pleased with that since things got quite busy for me over the Summer and then again near the Holidays.

Most of what I posted this year has been book reviews, a few random library related news pieces, and a couple of programing posts (which I need to do more of), and some of my Bestsellers to Blockbusters posts. I read a total of 55 books, started series (Lunar Chronicles!), read an entire Manga series, and just about finished a Cherrie Priest’s Clockwork Century, which I finished yesterday 😦 .

Here is the complete list of the books I’ve read, with links to the ones I reviewed. Sadly, I didn’t have time to review them all so I mainly stuck to doing the MG and YA ones since that is the main age group I work with. I may go back and do some of the children’s ones.

What I’ve Read in 2014

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
  2. Wynde by Tricia Barr
  3. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray
  4. Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times by Jennifer Worth
  5. Star Wars Jedi Academy by Jeffrey Brown
  6. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
  7. Once Upon a Time: Shadow of the Queen
  8. Relish by Lucy Kinsley
  9. Carter Finally Get’s it by Brent Crawford
  10. Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool
  11. Fighting Ruben Wolfe by Markus Zusak
  12. Getting the Girl by Markus Zusak (reviewed with above book)
  13. The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau
  14. All The Truth That’s in Me by Julie Berry
  15. Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong by Prudence Shen and Faith Erin Hicks
  16. Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
  17. The Nazi Hunters by Neal Bascomb
  18. Ash by Malinda Lo
  19. Boxers by Gene Luen Yang
  20. Saints by Gene Luen Yang (Part of a duology and reviewed with above)
  21. Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger (audiobook)
  22. Lives of Tao by Wesley Chu
  23. In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters
  24. Magic Knights Rayearth II Vol. 1
  25. Magic Knights Rayearth II Vol. 2
  26. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  27. Dangerous Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
  28. Vader and Son by Jeffrey Brown
  29. Vader’s Little Princess by Jeffrey Brown
  30. The Ninja Librarians: The Accidental Keyhand by Jenn Swan Downey
  31. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  32. The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Steadman
  33. The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
  34. The Haunted Library by Dori Hillestad Butler
  35. The Haunted Library: The Ghost in the attic by Dori Hillestad Butler
  36. Sailor Moon Vol. 2 by Naoko Takeushi (Book one was returned damaged and subsequently withdrawn so I started with 2)
  37. Sailor Moon Vol. 3
  38. Sailor Moon Vol. 4
  39. Sailor Moon Vol. 5
  40. Sailor Moon Vol. 6
  41. Sailor Moon Vol. 7
  42. Sailor Moon Vol. 8
  43. Sailor Moon Vol. 9
  44. Sailor Moon Vol. 10
  45. Sailor Moon Vol. 11
  46. Sailor Moon Vol. 12
  47. Clara and Mr. Tiffany by Susan Vreeland
  48. The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chianani
  49. Clementine by Cherrie Priest
  50. The Inexplicables by Cherrie Priest
  51. The All New X-Men Vol. 1
  52. The All New X-Men Vol. 2 (again, reviewed with above)
  53. The All New X-Men Vol. 3
  54. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
  55. Wild by Cheryl Strayed
  56. The Book of Sith by Daniel Wallace (review done for The Wookiee Gunner)

My goals for next year are the same, aim for one post a week. Except, I want to try to get them on a more regular schedule and do more kinds of series posts like my Bestsellers to Blockbusters, which I need to write one for, need to read some of the books for, or need to do read and see to complete. Any suggestions for a post series I can do?

That’s all for now, I hope everyone had a Happy New Year and may 2015 bring big things.  Perhaps a flying car or hoverboard that doesn’t need to be used on a metal track, because that would be just awesome!

8 thoughts on “2014 in Review

  1. I would say last year was a success! Did buying a house completely stress you out like it did for me? My stress didn’t end when I bought it either…tons of problems the first 6 months, but now I love it 🙂

    • I would too! Yes, and no. I’ve watched my parent’s buy about six houses, two of those they built, so I kind of knew what to expect. Of course, mine got stalled since they needed my transcripts to prove I was a student and why my income had changed so drastically, and they didn’t ask for them until the last minute. I had to get my fence fixed so far, and some of the paint colors have to go, the woman who sold it liked dark colors and the house is dark inside because of it. The dishwasher might need to be replaced too since mine is not anything like I’m used to, nor is it adequate in my opinion, but all the other appliances are new (the dishwasher looks like older than the others, so I don’t think she replaced it when she redid the place). I love mine too!

      • Yeah, I’m not a dark color person either. Most of my room colors are really light. I have white, light blue, yellow, and light green. I have one room that is a dark mossy green, but that’s because it’s the one room in the house that gets a lot of sunlight so I thought it would be safe to do a bold color. The woman who owned the house before me had so many dark curtains and blocked out all the light. She left them there when she moved and the first thing I did was take them all off. I’m a sunshine girl 🙂

      • The color in the main bathroom is a dark rust red color and combined with the lighting in their it’s dark. She only had two out of three bulbs in, so I don’t know how she out makeup on or did her hair. I need to have a painting party and paint it a nice ivory or beige, and the sage green in the living/dining room and hall a lavender. And I want to paint the green on the bottom half of the family room off the kitchen the same as the bathroom to soften the rust red on the walls there since it continues out of the bathroom. Living in Florida there is almost always sunshine, and I like it light enough to see!

Leave a Reply

