The Hub Reading Challenge

The Hub, YALSA’s blog, is hosting a reading challenge.  Last year I debated about joining in, but seeing as how I was still in school, I ultimately decided against it since I knew I wouldn’t be able to devote the time to it.  This year, with no classes I’ve decided to to it.  To participate one must read 25 titles in the provided list of this years award winners.  This is the list. If you wish to participate as well, the kick off post can be found here.

I’ve chosen to read:

  1. The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Capture the World’s Most Notorious Nazi by Neal Bascomb
  2. All the Truth That’s in Me by Julie Berry
  3. Lexicon: A Novel by Max Berry
  4. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray
  5. Star Wars Jedi Academy by Jeffery Brown
  6. Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger (audiobook)
  7. The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau
  8. Lives of Tao by Wesley Chu
  9. Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford (I was in Guys and Dolls in high school so I can’t resist this one)
  10. William Shakespeare’s Star Wars by Ian Doescher (audiobook)
  11. The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks
  12. Relish by Lucy Kinsey
  13. Belle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross
  14. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
  15. Strobe Edge V. 1-6 by Io Sakisaka
  16. Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool
  17. Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
  18. In the Shadows of Blackbirds by Cat Winters
  19. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  20. Getting the Girl by Markus Zusak

So I need to pick five more titles, but I think this is a good mix of genres.  Plus, several of these are already on my To Read list, which means maybe I’ll actually make some progress on that list this year instead of just adding to it.

Leave a Reply

