Graduation: A Long Time Coming

When I was a little girl, my mom used to take me to the little library in our township in New Jersey.  It wasn’t much, probably smaller than the library I intern at now, but it was a different time for libraries and for us.  The Internet wasn’t widely known about, PCs were in early use (remember DOS?), and first gen catalogs were just replacing card catalogs.  Libraries were simpler, but no less awesome.  I couldn’t wait until I was older and would come to the library for homework help if you can believe that.

My mom was told by one of my doctors at the time that she’d never find any medical  information in a public library.  So she took that challenge and into that little library and up to the desk she strood.  Art Wolk was the librarian there.  She asked him for the  information, and he not only knew what it was, he went striaght to a reference book, pulled it out, and flipped to it.  That was my first introduction to a library and a librarian.  Over the years Art would help me a lot.  Whenever I had a problem, my mom would say “Let’s go ask Art” and he’d always be able to help.  His wealth of knowledge – and sense of humor –  always impressed me.  Not to mention his gardening skills with the children’s garden outside the library where he once did a corn maze(Art is also an award winning gardener who is a staple of the Philadelphia Flower Show.  His book Garden Lunacy: A Growng Concern is hysterical).

When I was 13, it was Art who suggested I volunteer over the summer.  When I moved and left that library, I continued to volunteer with another male librarian, Kevin Griffith of the Pasco County Library System.  By the time I was 16 or so I wanted to be a Librarian just like Art.  I wanted to do for others what he always did for me.  It is Art I have to thank for inspiring me to be what’ I’m about to become.  And Kevin helped too.

In January 2011 I finally started library school at USF.  And as much as I’ve always hated school, I found myself not hating it as much anymore.  Maybe it’s because library science really is my “calling” so to speak.  I was finally learning what I was meant to learn all along, all the other stuff was just stepping stones to get me to graduate school.  On one hand, I can’t believe the last three years are over with, on the other I want to go “Thank the Force it’s over!”.  Now, graduation is only three weeks away and then I will officially be a librarian.  I can’t believe it.  Where did the years go?  I had my last class on Saturday and it feels like a huge relief that it’s almost over.  I can’t wait to walk across the stage when my name is announced with my classmates.

Now I just need to find a job, preferably in Youth Services working with teens.

16 thoughts on “Graduation: A Long Time Coming

      • You’re very welcome! Here’s hoping you can get a really good job now to put all your new skills to use. Sending you positive librarian-solidarity vibes!

      • Thanks, I need all the good vibes I can get. I’m hoping to hear back from the county since I applied at the begining of the semester for a Youth Services position. I have a friend at the county and one of the administrator is Kevin who I volunteered with so I have a good shot, but they are notorious for taking forever to hire. Whether or not I have a job, I plan to try to attend ALA next year though.

  1. The good news is I see postings for youth services constantly — probably because that’s not what I’m looking for! But good luck with the search!

    I saw when Wookiee Gunner nominated me for a Liebster this week that she also nominated you; and since that’s how I found your blog in the first place, I didn’t feel like I could also nominate you, but you’re a runner up in my Liebster Awards post 🙂 http://wp.me/pqeTI-hC

    PS, I’m planning to reblog your review of William Shakespeare’s Star Wars as my Sunday Spotlight, so it will appear on SWL on Dec. 1. Thanks!

    • I’ve seen a few, and I’m willing to move which is good. I applied for one in my county and am waiting to hear back. I applied for another but didn’t get an interview. I’m just going to stay optimistic, but realistic, and keep my eyes and ears open for any news. According to a professor, there will be openings next year in a neighboring county since several people have hit their 30 year mark after the system was reorganized and they had to start over for retirement so who knows, I might not have to go far!

      LOL! She’s the second person to nominate me, now I have to find others which is the hardest part and why I didn’t finish it last time. But thank you! I’ll be checking your blog out asap too.

      Awesome!

  2. Congrats, congrats, congrats! I do hope libraries stay around forever, along with books. My mom introduced me to the library as well and I was always shocked as I grew up and talked with kids my age who had no idea how to use the library, much less been in one!

    I also have a friend who did library science for a masters degree and I think she currently has a job cataloguing. If you are looking for a job in the Boston area, let me know and I can put you in touch with her! Though…is Youth Services related to library science?

    • Thank you! I was too growing up. We had someone come in the other day and ask where the card catalog was. They went out in the ’90s! That’s how long it had been since this person had been in a library!

      I’m keeping my options open, so you never know! I want to stick to Florida if possible, but I have family in various places so I’m looking around them too. Youth Services is what they call children’s librarians now, especially if they do both kids and teens. You might see Children’s Services or Teen Services as individual titles, but Youth is the all encompassing title.

  3. Congrats!!! It’s a great feeling when you are finally done. Best of luck with the job hunting. I just landed a great one. You can do it .. the force is strong with you!

Leave a Reply

