Bestsellers to Blockbusters: Part Deux

Ten points to the house of the person that can name what ’90s movie I’m referencing.  Anyone?  Anyone?  Bueller?  Bueller?  Hot Shots: Par Deux!  I always thing of that when titling something Par Two for some reason.

Anyway, thanks to working extra hours, a migraine, and a power outage when my laptop was shutting down causing it to no longer recognize my login information, I’m a little late on this post.  So with out further ado let’s continue.

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Series; Books: 2001-2011, Movies: 2005, 2008

The Girls form The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants is a series of five books that centers on four friends.  Athletic Bridget, quite artist Lena, the curvy and vivacious Carmen, and the film obsessed Tibby.  Their mothers were in the same pregnacy arobics class together and the girls where all born in September.  They have been lifelong friends, and faced with the spending the summer after sophmore year apart for the first time find and buy a pair of pants that magically fits all of them, despite being different sizes.  The pants bind them together on their summers apart for four years, summer before junior and senior year, summer before going off to college, and the summer after their freshman year of college.

I’ve read all but the final book which picks up ten years later when they are about to turn 30 and loved every page.  They are great books about friendship, first love, loss of loved one/friend, dealing wtih change, finding yourself, and all those other pesky things you deal with growing up a girl.  Each of the four girls is unique and there is bond to be one that you relate to.  Plus, the books dont’ shy away from the tough topics of sex, divorce, and re-marriage.

The first movie is pretty accurate to the book, the only deviation I remember is that they changed Lena and Kostas’s relationship into a “Romeo and Juliet” style romance when in the book, their family pushed for them to get together.  The second movie combines storylines from the next three making it kind of mis-match of summers.  The first movie was definately the best, and the books are so better, but either version is great for teenage girls.

The Chronicles of Narnia; Books: 1949-1954, Movies: 2005, 2008, 2010

Prince Caspian Poster

This series is a classic of children’s literature.  It’s been around for over 50 years and is still popular with children and adults alike.  Set during WWII when children were sent into the country to avoid the Blitz, four siblings are sent to relative and discover a passage to the world fo Narnia through an old wardrobe hidden in an empty spare room.  The bring an end to the White Which’s rain and the 100 year winter and become kings and queens of Narnia.  Subsequent books follow their adventures in Narnia and the adventures of others.

As a little girl, I saw the BBC version when I borrowed the video release from the library, and I was of course hooked.  I wanted to by Lucy Pevensie, and having an antique wardrobe in the house that had been passed down from my great-great-grandparent’s, I pretended it went to Narnia.  It never did unfortunately, but a girl can hope right?  Anyway, it was several years before I realized they were books, and I just never got around to reading them.  Again, sad I know, but that BBC series really was kind of aweful and as I got older, I hate to say it, but I “forgot” about them a bit.

Then I heard about that Disney was making them into movies.  I was so excited, despite being a freshman in college, I just couldn’t wait.  A friend at the time and I went to see The Lion The Witch and the Wardrobe (and I think the Fourth Haryy Potter movie which was out at the same time).  It had easily been close to fifteen years since I’d seen the other adaptation, so I barely remembered it, but found myself recalling scenes as they happened.  I of course loved it.  Again I went to see Prince Caspian with some friends only a week after getting out of the hospital.  I think Disney did a wonderful job with them and was disapionted when they announced they weren’t continueing the series.  Good thing Twenty Centryer Fox picked them up to complete Voyage of the Dawn Treader.  I have yet to hear if the others will be made into movies.

Appaerently though, these are Christian books.  I never noticed any symbolism as a child, and I still struggle to see it as an adult.  Maybe it’s becasue my mother and I were never religious, I mean I don’t call myself the Jedi Librarian just because I’m a Star Wars fan.  They also recieve criticism for being sexist and racist, but one has to keep in mind they were written in the forties and fifties by a man that was clearly a product of his time, even if he was religious.  No matter what though, I think they will go on to be loved for generations to come, and I will read them one day.  Remember, once a king or queen of Narnia, always a king or queen of Narnia.

4 thoughts on “Bestsellers to Blockbusters: Part Deux

  1. Narnia is pretty clearly religious if you read the books. Well, let me correct that: the first book (The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe) and the last book (The Last Battle) seem to be pretty Christian oriented…but then again, I am a Christian, so maybe that is why I notice it?

    However, a lot of people also say LotR is Christian and I can’t pick up on that at all.

    • I grew up Catholic, as did my mom, but we never made the connection. As an adult, I can see some of it in the movies. I mean the whole daughter’s of Eve and sons of Adam is a pretty big indicator. Plus there’s Aslan coming back from the dead, and the fact that he’s a lion, which is mythology is considered the King of animals.

      Tolkien and Lewis were friends, and I seem to remember one of my professors, a Brit, saying that one didn’t like the “darkness” in the other’s writing and attempted to convert the other to Christianity.

      • If my memory serves me correctly, Tolkien was devoutly Catholic and Lewis was devoutly Protestant. I can see Lewis trying to convert Tolkien (even though the religions have the same fundamental base, so the converting thing rubs me wrong sometimes cuz other people get so uptight about different sects of Christianity…tangent for another time) because Tolkien’s novels are a lot darker than Lewis’.

      • They are basically the same religion in my book. The differences are relatively minor,so it rubs me the wrong way as well when you are trying to convert someone form one sect to another (but you’re right, that’s a discussion for another time). I didn’t think the conversion thing made sense in class, and I can’t remember for the life of me how we got on the subject of the two of them since the class was in British Spy Fiction, and not Fantasy. Although we did have a Tolklien class, it was only offered once. Either way, both are influenced by multiple types of mythology.

Leave a Reply

