Steampunk at the Hernando County Library

Again, I’m a little late with this post, but it took a while for my friend at the library to post the pictures.  Add a nonstop work weekend and a an obsession to finish The Hunger Games Trilogy and you get a late post.

A few months ago, a classmate who has since graduated asked for my help with a Steampunk program she was planning for the Summer programming.  I told her some books to peruse, gave her some info, and forwarded some presentations I did for Preparing Instructional Media last summer, then I offered to loan her some of my costumes.  With a little help from me and my mom we had her and her co-worker decked out in some of our Steampunk finery.

On Thursday July, 25th I helped out with the program by giving a short presentation on what Steampunk is and it’s history, then we let the teens chose their crafts.  There was a duck tape top hat, jewelry, a barrette, and a journal.  The kids had a blast!  The absolutely loved the crafts and gushed over the jewelry handmade jewelry I brought with me.  They  had a lot of fun and so did I.

The library even said they had interest from adults in a Steampunk event.  I’d love to help them out again.  For pictures of the event, please see the Hernando County Library System’s Facebook page.

Library Assistant, me, and my Classmate

Library Assistant, me, and my Classmate

Sepia Photo

Marissa showing the kids what to do.

Marissa showing the kids what to do.

Me helping some girls with wire work on some earrings.

Me helping some girls with wire work on some earrings.

Leave a Reply

