Web 2.0, Library 2.0, and Librarian 2.0: A Review of Literature

Ok, this is a new feature.  As part of my Social Media class I am required to write my reflections on what I read for the week.  I need a nifty name for this so please leave your suggestions in the comments.  My posts here will be a little more in depth than the ones I make for class though.

The materials this week helped me to better understand Web 2.0, Library 2.0, and Librarian 2.0.  While I had heard the terms before in my studies, the articles I read this week helped to better define them and make them easier to understand.

The history and evolution of Social Media Services was a very interesting read to me. I never knew so many of them had existed over the last ten+ years.  The explanations of all the different kinds of SMS helped to better understand what has been out there in the past and what is currently out there.  While I found O’Reilly’s articles long and a little complicated to understand, they were very informative.

The videos were very eye opening, short, and to the point.  They showed some interesting facts and statistics that I did not know.  The following video was the best in my opinion.

I would recommended Boyd and Ellison’s article on defining Social Media and giving a history.  It’s interesting and informative. I found it easy to read and understand.  The history details old and current sites from the last 10+ years.

Secondly, I’d recommend Maness’s article.  This article is great for library students or librarians seeking to learn more about Web 2.0 and Library 2.0 and implications for libraries.  This article was much easier to understand than either of O’reilly’s articles.  Lots of aspects of different applications are talked about with regards to libraries.

Ortutuay’s article is very short, but it gets the message across. It explains different Social Media services in a short, easy to understand paragraphs.

Peltier-Davis’s article was perhaps my favorite.  It explained what Web 2.0, Library 2.0, and Librarian 2.0 are using billeted lists and was written by a librarian and was about how to be a Librarian 2.0 and library 2.0 trends in libraries.  I found it the most helpful as a library student.

Overall, I learned more about SMS than I ever knew before and gained a greater understanding of the concepts of Web 2.0, Librarian 2.0, and Library 2.0.

References*
Boyd, d. m. & Ellison, N. B. (2007). Social networking sites: Definition, history, and scholarship. Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication, 13 (1), 210-230.

Maness, J. (2006). Library 2.0 Theory: Web 2.0 and its implications for libraries. Webology, 3 (2).

Ortutay, B. (May 18, 2012). Beyond Facebook: A look at social media history. Bloomberg Business Week Online.

Peltier-Davis, C. (2009). Web 2.0, library 2.0, library user 2.0, librarian 2.0: Innovative services for sustainable libraries. Computers in Libraries, 29 (10),16-21.

*Articles were linked to when possible.  All articles are accessible through the  USF Libraries website.  They should be accessible through other University websites as well.

Leave a Reply

