Reading Lists, and Discussion Board Posts, and Blogs oh my!

It seems that this semester, textbooks a couple of journal articles won’t be the only things I have to read.  Already three days into the semester, and the Discussion Boards for both classes move at lightening speed it seems.  And then there are the blog posts I’ll have to read as well.

While the reading list in my Collection Development is not that long, the due to the fact that there is no textbook in my Social Media class, the reading list is quite long.  It also includes numerous videos.  I started working on the nine articles for next week, an some of them are on the long end.  At least 15 pages.  Which can be tiring to read online.  I did manage to get four of the shorter ones read, so that’s something.

The next item to read is the Discussion Board.  Not every professor uses these, although most do.  The only core class I’ve been in that did not require them was my Basic Reference class.  This time around, we have posted questions to answer in Col Dev, which I prefer over what I had last semester in Research Methods where the prof expected us to come up with our own topic based on the readings.  That can be a tall and tough order.  I much prefer a little more guidance, some sort of prompt, or the question to answer.  But one thing’s for sure, the Discussion Boards in both of my classes move quickly.  I just hope everyone doesn’t wait until the last minute to post.  With me working weekends that could prove disastrous for me.

Finally, there are the blogs to read.  As in Preparing Instructional Media, I am required to keep a blog for my Social Media class.  I have opted to put a separate one on blogger since that is the preferred platform and use my university account.  Now that I have figured out how to import posts from other blog sites, cross posting interesting posts should be easier.  But reading 20+ blogs and commenting on them will only add to my reading load.

I have a feeling I have a lot of reading ahead of me this semester.

3 thoughts on “Reading Lists, and Discussion Board Posts, and Blogs oh my!

    • I think it will be too. I like that the book is small and that there aren’t too many journal readings to do. The other class looks interesting too. I just know it’s going to be a long semester.

  1. I know, I know, stop complaining. Of course, I wasn’t meaning to complain, just state that it’s going to be a busy semester and why. It will certainly be an interesting class, that Long Tail thing confused me. I hope the rest doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

