What in the blazes is a Podcast?

For the past few years I’ve been hearing about these things called podcasts, but I never actually knew what the bloody hell they were.  I assumed that you had to have an ipod to watch/listen to them since they seemed to be sold in the iTunes store, and since I don’t have an iPod that I would be unable to watch/listen to them.  After all, they both have pod in them.  I still don’t have an ipod since I opted for Sony’s cheaper mp3 Walkman that does the exact same thing as an iPod.  Did that mean that I still couldn’t watch them?  And who wants to watch a video on one of those iddy biddy screens?

Seems I was wrong.  According to Wikipedia (there I go using the good ole wiki again), a podcast is “a series of digital media files (either audio or video) that are released episodically and often downloaded through web syndication.”  It also says they were made famous by iPods – there’s that association I was making – but that you don’t need an iPod to view or listen to them.  What a relief.

For the past couple of years, one of my favorite websites, Gateworld.net, has been having weekly podcasts that contain interviews with the show’s actors, directors, behind-the-scenes featurettes on special effects, episode and season reviews, and previews of new episodes.  Of course, I never watched them.    I have a lot to chose from, there are 115 Gateworld podcasts.  I also have to download some additional software.

Once I download the software, I’ll make a selection.

Leave a Reply

