Foundations of Library and Informaion Science 23 Things

Hello!

My name is Mina and I am a first semester grad student in the USF LIS program.  As an assignment I must choose a 23 things list and do at least 7 of the items on the list.  I have the list that started it all as well as The Oxford Libraries 23 Things list provided by a friend who works at the Vere Harmsworth Library, one of the Bodleian Libraries of the University of Oxford.  Both have things I would be interested in learning about.   While many things on both lists are the same, there are differences to them.  The Oxford list has Twitter on it’s list, but the original list does not since Twitter was not out in 2006.

My first experience though,no matter which list I pick,  is creating this blog.  I have a Livejournal blog, but I do not use it that often.  I mainly use it for the fan communities that Livejournal has.  Their set up is fairly easy to use once you get used to it.  But I had a few problems here at first.  When I signed up, I initially typed in my e-mail address wrong, I forgot the number at the end.  Once I got that straightened out, I logged in for the first time and it had the “Make your first post” option.  I started typing my introduction, but was a little disappointed that I couldn’t figure out how to change the font color.  I scrolled over the icons in the bar, but none of them were for font color.  I was happy to see the other basic editor icons though.  When I was done typing my initial intro (which I am editing now) I couldn’t find the publish/submit button.  I was looking underneath the box were you type the text, not to the side.  Another issue I had was with editing the look.  I couldn’t figure out which button you clicked to edit your layout.  I had to go through all the icons on the left before I found it.  From there it didn’t take me long to find and chose the layout with the books banner.  I’m an amateur at Photoshop so I may create my own banner if I have time and if the inspiration strikes.  For now I still have to pick out a list.

I can see blogs being a good tool for libraries to use to get the word out about events and services.  They could provide the link on their home pages to the blog for easy access.  In it, they could discuss upcoming events and new services and items the library offers.  They could also do a feature on each of the Librarians.  A “Meet our Librarians” series of entries showing the “Who’s Who” among staff would be a great way for patrons to know who does what at their local library so they know who to talk to when they go in for something.

2 thoughts on “Foundations of Library and Informaion Science 23 Things

  1. Hi Mina;
    I saw that you are following my blog – not much to read there yet. I am brand new to this technology. As soon as I can figure out how, I am going to add you to my follow list. Sounds like you are quite experienced at all this…i’m still trying to figure out how to get my blog link right. Anyway, this will be a journey, nice to meet you.

    • Elizabeth,

      I figured I’d follow my classmates. I have a little experience. Not as much as most people my age. I can’t text to save my life and don’t quite get the attraction of iPhones and Blackberries. It will be a journey for all of us I think. It’s nice to meet you too.

Leave a Reply

